Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight (Zimbabwe)

9780375758997

Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight by Alexandra Fuller, was a library find. I did not go into the library looking for this book. I went in with a list. This is where my reading is going to start getting complicated. Three out of the four books that I have chosen to read are not in my library’s system. The one that they did have I had to place a hold on, the other three are coming from university. What is the point in all this? First this is going to slow me down, I knew that this would be a factor, but I thought it would come later in the year when I started working on the not so popular in the news countries. Second, you never know what you  are going to find in wandering the stacks.

That is how I happened to find this book, wandering through the stacks. What made me pick it up was the title. I have a thing for dogs, and I wanted to see what this one was about. Then I read that it was about growing up in Rhodesia during the late 1970’s and early 1980’s. There are land mines, there is racism, there is child abuse, rape, this in many cases would have not been an easy book to get through. There were a few times I had to put it down and take a deep breath. The abuse and rape were delicately handled. Some of the gore was a bit more graphic.

That is not saying this is an awful book. It is not, you think it would be.  I do not know how the author managed to write it like she did. It is nearly all from the point of view of a child. The things that adults think are BIG like war, are just there. The dogs, the horses, the food, the bugs are the big thing. Her Parents are a BIG thing, as are her siblings. The book is in many ways surprisingly intimate.

What did I learn form this book? That one day going to some part of Africa might be fun. The other is that I had a very safe childhood compared to the author.

QUOTES

“Mum sits back in her seat and slides the Uzi forward out the window.”

“”I’m sure they are not allowed to drink out of the same mug as us.””

Leave a Reply

