Christ Stopped at Eboli (Italy)

9781406758788

First I need to apologize on the lateness of this book, two weeks ago I had oral surgery and just felt icky. I did not want to do anything but sleep and stare at the wall.

Christ Stopped at Eboli by Carlo Levi is to date the oldest book that I have read for this adventure. Published in 1947 it tells of the year he spent in as a political prisoner in the town of Gagliano.

After I read the book I went on Goodreads to read the reviews from others what they thought of this book. Many of them were four or five stars. I think they read a different book then I did.

First off I thought this was a work of fiction as that is what I wanted to read. It was only after I Goggled the town of Gagliano that I found out this was a memoir. The author never states why he is a prisoner, I had to look that up too. Turns out he was an out spoken non-fascist in a fascist government. I spent as much time Goggling things in this book that I did as reading it.

For a memoir I felt that the author spent more of the time on introspection then what the book is famous for. I was in reading this book very surprised at how undeveloped the village was for the late 1930’s. I had to force myself to read this book, and that is never a good thing, it thrown my reading off.

One thing in my Google of this book that I found interesting was that they made this into a movie. I do not thing I will be watching this movie.

QUOTES

“A prisoner may find greater consolation in a cell with romantic, heavy iron bars than in one that superficially resembles a normal room.”

“Here the peasants did not sing.”

Leave a Reply

