The Slap (Australia)

I have heard romuers that they made The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas into a movie or a TV show. I can see why it is a very compelling story. It is a very interesting story that has the potential to bring up a lot of discussion and hard feelings.

I do not want to give away the plot but as it is on the back of the book it is fair game. A man, Harry, slaps a child who is not his at a family/friends BBQ. Did he do the right thing in trying to protect his child or was it out of anger? I think this is for the reader to decide. I am not able to make that call for anyone else. As, for my opinion as a mother well, that would be telling.

While my partner does not read all of the books that I do we discuss then greatly. This one led to an interesting discussion on who we are and who others are. In this book there is a lot of talk about casual drug use. In fact one of the mothers when she finds out her 17 year old is doing drugs says;” I guess you’re all grown up.” Now I do not know if this is the standard feeling toward drugs in Australia, or not. I do know that the people that we associate with are not into the drug culture. I have never had the desire to try drugs.

One thing that I did have to do when reading this book was look up some slang words. One that is used over and over in the book happened to be defined as something that is racist. Now, some people may call me a prude for this but I did have a hard time with all the swearing in the book. I swear, but it is used as an exclamation, or as shock value to what I am speaking on. In this book many times it is used as a descriptor. Again my partner and I talked about this and we both came to the conclusion that it is who one hangs out with that is reflected in speech, and writing.

One of my notes on the book said that Rosie needs counseling-seriously. It also took a long time into the book for me to find quotes. I do not pick them at random they mean something to me at the time that I had read them.

QUOTES

“Getting old was a chore, a misery indeed, but it did have its concessions.”

“He believed he had glimpsed a truth, a possibility: equanimity, acceptance, a certain peace- in old age, all men were equal.”

 

Leave a Reply

