Tom’s Midnight Garden

Tom’s Midnight Garden by Philippa Pearce has been on my TBR list for a while. After I read The Secret Garden I have had a thing for hidden garden books.

Tom is sent away to stay with an aunt and uncle while his brother recovers from the mumps. FYI this was written in 1958 and won the¬†Carnegie Medal from the Library Association. The house that Tom’s aunt and uncle live in has been converted into flats and there is not a garden to play in.

This is a time slip book there Tom can slip back in time to play in the original garden and meet the a few of the people who live there. It is cute, a bit preachy, and very much has the ideas of the 1950’s written into the book . I borrowed this one from the library and did not take a picture of it before I took it back.

I would get this book for a small child my son would have read it in first grade, however it is written for someone with a 5th grade reading level.

Leave a Reply

