Daba’s Travels from Ouadda to Bangui by Makombo Bambote (Central African Republic)

5140604.jpg

Daba’s Travels from Ouadda to Bangui was written by Makombo Bambote and translated from French by John Buchanan-Brown.  There is not going to be a link to this book as I have not been able to find one.

This book is adorable. Daba leaves his village to go live in a town where he can get schooling. There he makes friends, enemies, and starts to learn skills that he needs to grow up.

This is an older book written in 1971, so I am sure that pertains to the innocence of the book. For example when Daba was 10 he and some friends went off to hunt lions, and like all boys on an adventure they teased each other, and fed off each others bravery and fear. When he was older they went on an alligator hunt.

I don’t have any quotes from this book, I forgot to get them, but I did have things to look up. He talked about eating manioc I have never heard of that so I googled it. Manioc is yuca! He also kept talking about the 14th of July when I google it all I get is information about the French revolution.

One more thing about this book it is written for middle grade readers.

Leave a comment