The Summer Book (Finland)

The Summer Book

I did not think that with COVID-19 I would be able to keep reading around the world. The libraries here are closed and it is hard to get books from other countries unless it is through the library system. I am on Litsy and there is a book group called #LMPBC that I have been doing for 2 years now. This last round, #LMPBC is done is rounds, was novellas or short stories. One of the books that was chosen was The Summer Book by Tove Jansson.

This book was like reading the beach, and a cuppa. I can see why it has never been out of print, it was beautifully written and relaxing to read. In this time of stress a book this comforting was needed.

The thing about this book is that you know there is life off the island, and that time is passing. However, each chapter is just a snippet of time it might be a day or just a few hours then when a new chapter starts up time that you did not see has passed.

In reading the forward of the book (written by Esther Freud) she informs us that the island is small, however in reading the book the island is miles and miles long. Sometimes, I wanted to yell at Sophia, but then I remember that she is just a little girl and that Grandmother is not.

QUOTES

“Gathering is peculiar because you see nothing but what you’re looking for”

“The path was an endless, empty street in the moonlight between shaggy houses.”

” ‘My dear child’ said Grandmother impatiently ‘ every human being  her to make his own mistakes.'”

 

 

Leave a comment